vueakp.blogg.se

Putting a mac on linux
Putting a mac on linux







putting a mac on linux

You will need a file from the MacOSX installation media (which I will attach below but it will need to be unzipped). The iSight Webcam requires some tools installed. If you do not have an Apple keyboard then press the Left ALT key instead. Press the up arrow on the screen as shown in Figure 1. Insert the USB Stick in the USB Port of the iMac and power on holding down the Option key and select EFI (second one) once it appears. Deepin will not display the Desktop Environment properly if a secondary video port is detected as active.

putting a mac on linux

Do not have a secondary monitor or even a plug in the secondary video port. NOTE: Before starting the install I have found an issue with Deepin, which is not an issue with iMac. The USB Stick should then be ready to boot on any system you wish to install Deepin Linux. Once you have the ISO downloaded you can use Etcher to extract the image to a USB Stick. On my iMac I can install a 64-bit version of Deepin. NOTE: Some places on the Internet claim that you cannot install a 64-bit OS other than MacOS on a Mac. I usually use Ubuntu, but I have been hearing a lot about Deepin so I decided to try it on my iMac. The upgrade was smooth except the iSight webcam (which wasn’t too bad). Since each Mac can have varying components you may also run into driver issues. NOTE: Keep in mind that for an upgrade to Linux you must have an Intel processor. I decided to install Linux and make the system better. The MacOS is what discouraged me since I couldn’t install very many any apps since it was older. The shipping charge was more than the cost of the all-in-one (AIO) system. The system runs better in winter when it is a little cooler. Another reason is that the video card has an overheating issue which causes screen anomalies.

putting a mac on linux

For this reason I didn’t use the iMac often. After I tried using the iMac and installing apps on it I found out that few apps supported Snow Leopard. The highest MacOS it can support is 10.6 or Snow Leopard.

  • Nvidia GeForce 7300 GT video card 128 MB VRAM.
  • 24-Inch screen TFT Active Matrix LCD (1921x1200 native) display.
  • For this article I used an iMac 6.1 from late 2006. There are many types of Apple Mac systems available. For this reason someone may want to install Linux on a Mac. Many people may like the look and feel of Linux over other Desktop Operating Systems (OS).









    Putting a mac on linux